Campbell House Museum
Visit Campbell House MuseumPlan Your Visit
The Campbell family lived for 84 years (from 1854 to 1938) in what is now Campbell House Museum. The history of the family is entwined in both the history of the brick and mortar home and in the history of St. Louis and westward expansion. The house is the sole survivor of Lucas Place, the first “suburban” neighborhood in St. Louis. Because the house has been restored using primary documents, photos, and objects, it is both historically accurate and visually stunning. More importantly, the museum tells stories from the past that continue to have relevance today—Robert Campbell’s experience as an immigrant and entrepreneur in the fur trade, the family’s role as slave owners and emancipators, and the importance of preservation of places and stories from the past.
In 2005, Campbell House Museum completed a meticulous five-year, $3 million restoration that returned the building to its opulent 1880s appearance, when the house was one of the centers of St. Louis society.
Campbell House Museum was documented as part of the Historic American Buildings Survey between 1936 and 1941, designated a City of St. Louis Landmark in 1971, listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1977, and became a National Trust for Historic Preservation Save America’s Treasures project in 2000. The museum is owned and operated by the Campbell House Foundation, Inc., a nonprofit organization, and it has been open to the public since 1943.