Crocker House Museum
Visit Crocker House MuseumPlan Your Visit
The first mayor of Mount Clemens, Joshua Dickinson, built this Italianate home in 1869. His daughter, Katherine, the great-granddaughter of city founder Christian Clemens, and his son-in-law, George M. Crocker, moved into the house after their marriage in 1870.
George Crocker, a former prosecuting attorney and justice of the peace, became mayor upon Joshua Dickinson's death which occurred less than one month after he took office. The house was moved in 1908 to make room for a new post office, but the Crocker family remained in the home and owned the house until 1921. Max Cohen purchased the home and remodeled it into four apartments. He continued to live in the home until his new residence was built in 1927. Harry Chevalier purchased the home in 1934 and resided there until the 1970s when the Michigan State Highway Department purchased the home for $17,000. Slated for removal or demolition in 1975, it was rescued by the Macomb County Historical Society, which moved it to Union Street in 1976 for use as a local history museum.
The museum offers a late Victorian home–life experience reminiscent of the world renowned Mineral Bath Era of Mount Clemens in Macomb County, Michigan.
The museum is open for guided tours March through December, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays from 10:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m. and the first Sunday of each month, excluding holidays, from 1:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Benefits for National Trust Members
20% Off Admission
Explore More Places