Richardson Olmsted Campus in Buffalo, New York

photo by: Scott Gable Photography

Richard H. Driehaus Foundation National Preservation Awards

The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation National Preservation Awards celebrate the best of the best in historic preservation, adaptive reuse, and the re-imagining of historic buildings for the future. They are a part of the National Preservation Awards, which are presented annually at the PastForward conference.

The coveted Driehaus Awards are bestowed on distinguished individuals, nonprofit organizations, public agencies, and corporations whose skill and determination have given new meaning to communities by preserving their architectural and cultural heritage. The Driehaus Awards recognize efforts such as citizens saving and maintaining important landmarks, companies and craftsmen restoring the richness of the past, public officials supporting preservation projects and legislation in their communities, and educators and journalists helping Americans understand the value of preservation.

Winners are selected by an independent jury of national and international thought leaders from many disciplines. The 2019 Driehaus Awards jury included Next City executive director Lucas Grindley, California state historic preservation officer Julianne Polanco, National Park Service historian John H. Sprinkle, and Jorge Otero-Pailos, director of Historic Preservation at Columbia University's Graduate School of Architecture.

Deadline Extended! Nominations for the 2020 National Preservation Awards will be accepted through February 21, 2020.

Learn more about the full slate of awards, including the Richard H. Driehaus Foundation National Preservation Awards, the American Express Aspire Award, and the Louise du Pont Crowninshield Award—as well as the current deadlines for all of them—on Preservation Leadership Forum.

Past Winners