Linden Hill Historic Estate
Visit Linden Hill Historic EstatePlan Your Visit
Linden Hill is a beautiful, 9.5-acre historic estate situated on a linden, or basswood, tree-covered hill on the banks of the mighty Mississippi in Little Falls, Minnesota. Drew Musser and Charles Weyerhaeuser, business partners and friends, commissioned Minnesota architect Clarence H. Johnston to design their homes in the boom town of Little Falls, where their fathers had sent them to run the Pine Tree Lumber Company during the great Lumber Era. The homes were built simultaneously in 1898 by then-bachelors Drew and Charles, who before long married and began families.
The Weyerhaeuser family moved away in 1920 and sold their home to the Mussers for a "nickel and a handshake." Laura Jane Musser, the youngest daughter of Drew and Sarah, lived on the estate until her passing in 1989. The Musser Fund Trust gifted Linden Hill to the City of Little Falls and today, thanks to the efforts of the Friends of Linden Hill's staff, volunteer board, and volunteer committees, these homes are open for the public to enjoy. The Weyerhaeuser house is a historic house museum and the Musser house is an event and lodging venue. Both structures stand as an elegant reminder of life in a different era and as a legacy of the people who lived here. The Friends of Linden Hill have the vision to maintain the history and ensure the integrity of the Musser/Weyerhaeuser estate through preservation, education, arts and culture, community engagement, and tourism.