Old Courthouse Museum
Designed by local Sioux Falls architect Wallace L. Dow, the first Minnehaha County Courthouse was claimed to be the "largest courthouse between Chicago and Denver" upon its completion in 1893. Constructed of native Sioux Quartzite stone, a popular building material of the time, the interior of the courthouse features stained glass windows, granite pillars, and a series of 16 large murals depicting early life in Dakota by Norwegian painter Ole Running. After it became too small for use as a court in 1962, the courthouse was marked for demolition. Concerned citizens campaigned to save the building and in 1974 it was converted into a museum.
Stay connected with us via email. Sign up today.
Explore More Places
Get a $150 cash back offer and help save places with the National Trust for Historic Preservation Bank of America⁽ᴿ⁾ Cash Rewards Visa⁽ᴿ⁾ card.It's Easy