Seward House Museum
Originally built in 1816 as a as a ten-room townhouse for a wealthy Cayuga County Judge named Elijah Miller, the Seward House sat on four acres on the outskirts of Auburn, New York. When William Henry Seward asked for Miller's youngest daughter, Frances' hand in marriage, he required them to live under the same roof as him. Seward moved in in 1824 and oversaw the additions made to the townhouse from 1846-48. When Miller passed in 1851, he left the house to Seward and it remained the only house that William would ever own, despite his extensive political career in Albany and Washington, DC. After Seward's death in 1872, the house passed to his son and then his grandson, who bequeathed it to the Fred L. Emerson Foundation who opened it as a museum in 1955.
Stay connected with us via email. Sign up today.
Explore More Places
Get a $150 cash back offer and help save places with the National Trust for Historic Preservation Bank of America⁽ᴿ⁾ Cash Rewards Visa⁽ᴿ⁾ card.It's Easy