Fowler Clark Epstein Farm, Boston, Massachusetts

photo by: Ian McLellan

Richard H. Driehaus Foundation National Preservation Awards

  • Deadline Extended: Now Accepting Nominations for 2021

    Learn more about award categories and submit your nomination today! We are accepting submissions through February 26, 2021.

    Learn More

The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation National Preservation Awards celebrate the best of the best in historic preservation, adaptive reuse, and the re-imagining of historic buildings for the future. They are a part of the National Preservation Awards, which are presented annually at the PastForward conference.

The coveted Driehaus Awards are bestowed on distinguished individuals, nonprofit organizations, public agencies, and corporations whose skill and determination have given new meaning to communities by preserving their architectural and cultural heritage. The Driehaus Awards recognize efforts such as citizens saving and maintaining important landmarks, companies and craftsmen restoring the richness of the past, public officials supporting preservation projects and legislation in their communities, and educators and journalists helping Americans understand the value of preservation.

Winners are selected by an independent jury of national and international thought leaders from many disciplines. The 2020 Driehaus Awards jury included Executive Director of the New York City Public Design Commission, Justin Garrett Moore; Elizabeth MacMillan Director of the National Museum of American History, Anthea M. Hartig; and 94th President of the American Institute of Architects and Principal Emeritus at Quinn Evans, Carl Elefante.

Learn more about the full slate of awards, including the Richard H. Driehaus Foundation National Preservation Awards, the American Express Aspire Award, and the Louise du Pont Crowninshield Award—as well as the current deadlines for all of them—on Preservation Leadership Forum.

The 2020 National Preservation Awards ceremony was held on Thursday, October 29, 2020.