International Museum of Surgical Science
Visit International Museum of Surgical SciencePlan Your Visit
The Eleanor Countiss House, now the International Museum of Surgical Science, is located on Chicago's Lake Shore Drive just north of the Magnificent Mile. The house was built in 1917 at the direction of Eleanor Robinson Countiss, an heiress of the Diamond Match Company. The family hired renowned architect Howard Van Doren Shaw to construct the mansion after Le Petit Trianon in Versailles. The house is four stories tall and was constructed with Indiana Limestone. Its interiors include original carved fireplaces, checkered marble flooring, and original birch and walnut wood paneling.
The building was sold to the International College of Surgeons in 195 and was to be transformed into a Hall of Fame for surgery. In 1954, two art exhibitions were commissioned for the original salon and dining rooms. The Hall of Immortals contains 12 stone statues of important medical figures, and the Hall of Murals includes 12 paintings by an Italian artist depicting scenes throughout medical and surgical history. The residence now houses the International Museum of Surgical Science, a medical museum that showcases artifacts, paintings, sculptures, and artworks on medical and surgical history from ancient times to today.