Days of '76 Museum
The celebration of the Days of '76 began as a commemoration of the founding days of Deadwood and its first pioneers who came flocking to the town in 1876. First celebrated in 1924, the celebration has grown legendary and includes a parade and rodeo. The museum started informally: just a collection of horse-drawn wagons, stage coaches, memorabilia, and archives. In 1900, the collection of Don Clowers was added to the already existing collection, causing the museum to look for a larger home. In 2004, funds were pledged for a new home to house the abundant collection featuring exceptional displays of carriages, firearms, American Indian artifacts, and illustrates Deadwood’s enduring friendship with Buffalo Bill Cody.
Stay connected with us via email. Sign up today.
Explore More Places
Speak up for Route 66! Join the National Trust in supporting a National Historic Trail designation for Route 66.Sign the Petition