Historic Adams House
The Historic Adams House, a fully restored Queen-Anne style mansion built in 1892, recounts the tragedies and triumphs of two of Deadwood's founding families, including that of W.E. Adams, the founder of the Adams Museum. The stained glass windows, modern 19th century indoor plumbing and electricity, telephone service, and original furnishings chronicle Deadwood’s transition from a raucous mining camp into a prosperous and technologically rich city. After Adams' death in 1934, his wife shut the house up and let it sit for almost 60 years. The home was purchased in 1992 by the Deadwood Historic Preservation Commission and then restored to become a house museum in 1998.
Stay connected with us via email. Sign up today.
Explore More Places
Speak up for Route 66! Join the National Trust in supporting a National Historic Trail designation for Route 66.Sign the Petition