Nichols House Museum
The Nichols House Museum occupies an impressive four-story town house, one of the earliest Beacon Hill structures attributed to Charles Bulfinch. In 1885, Dr. Arthur Nichols, Elizabeth Nichols, and their three daughters Rose, Marian, and Margaret moved into the house. The eldest daughter, Rose Standish Nichols, noted landscape architect, writer, and suffragist, eventually inherited the house. Miss Nichols owned and cared for the house from 1935 until her death in 1960. Since 1961, the Nichols House has been open to the public as an historic house museum reflecting the domestic life of a typical early twentieth century family of Beacon Hill. The house is furnished with priceless possessions acquired over several generations.
Stay connected with us via email. Sign up today.
Explore More Places
Speak up for Route 66! Join the National Trust in supporting a National Historic Trail designation for Route 66.Sign the Petition