August 18, 2015

National Register Guide, Episode 8: Criteria and Areas of Significance

As fantastic as it is, the National Register of Historic Places can get a little confusing -- even for a seasoned pro. But fear not, because the PreservationNation blog has teamed up with Jim Gabbert, a historian with the National Park Service, to create our National Register Guide.

Melissa Jest in front of the John Coltrane House. Credit: Melissa Jest
The former house of a celebrity would likely qualify for Criterion B of the National Register, but could also qualify for other criteria. Here, National Trust staffer Melissa Jest visits the John Coltrane House.

Episode Seven of our National Register of Historic Places Guide demonstrated how to establish a property's historic significance. Episode Eight identifies the different criteria and "areas of significance" that are important for National Register listing.

This episode answers specific questions such as:

  • How many National Register criteria are there?
  • What are the National Register criteria?
  • How many criteria must a property qualify for to be listed on the National Register?
  • How many areas of significance must a property qualify for to be listed on the National Register?
  • Can a property qualify for multiple criteria?
  • Can a property qualify for multiple areas of significance?

We hope you enjoy the show.

Special thanks to the President Woodrow Wilson House for filming accommodations.

David Weible is a former content specialist at the National Trust, previously with Preservation and Outside magazines. His interest in historic preservation is inspired by the ‘20s-era architecture, streetcar neighborhoods, and bars of his hometown of Cleveland.

Related Stories

Each year, America’s 11 Most Endangered Historic Places sheds light on important examples of our nation’s heritage that are at risk of destruction or irreparable damage.

Find Out Who Is Listed